cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

7" (or larger) GPS Units

bluwtr49
Explorer II
Explorer II
I've been using my Garmin Nuvi for several years with great success but the small screen, while great in the car, presents some difficulties in the MH so I'm shopping for something larger.

Since this will be a dedicated GPS I have little to no interest in ancillary functions like phone connectivity, web browsing, playing music, cameras and the like. Of course most come with a lot of those features but they are of minimal interest.

RV specific units are interesting but not necessarily a "must have" and I wouldn't want to sacrifice quality navigation for a list of RV parks.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Dick
Dick

2002 43' DP Beaver Marquis Emerald Cat C-12 505 HP, 1600 Tq
2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland ---toad
36 REPLIES 36

JaxDad
Explorer III
Explorer III
holstein13 wrote:
Dale.Traveling wrote:
The problem was only the iPad with cellular capabilities have GPS and I would rather not add an additional device to my service.
To be perfectly clear, you DO NOT need to add service to an iPad with cellular capabilities.

It's simply not necessary in order to use the GPS.

Speaking of not necessary, ANY iPad will work as a GPS, not just those with cellular capability.

All you need to do is use them in conjunction with a Bluetooth GPS receiver like Garmin GLO or Bad Elf. The added benefit of doing so is that you can place the receiver way out next to the windshield where there's great reception and leave the iPad in further where it's easier to see.

Rufas
Explorer
Explorer
BobGed wrote:
Rufas wrote: