cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stopping a pleasure way from wandering on the road

scottyquickfeet
Explorer
Explorer
I am looking at buying a 1999 to 2003 pleasure way excel, or excel td, on a ford chassis,and have heard that there is a problem with them wondering all over the road at 50 or 60 miles an hour? if that's true, what do the pleasure way owners out there in camper land do to rectify that problem?
Some people say, good tires? What brand would you recommend?
Wheel spacers, what does that do? other than making the back wheels 3" or 4" wider
installing new heavy duty shocks! what type would you recommend?
Any help you can put my way, would be greatly appreciated. As you can tell, its my first time buying a camper van!
Take care campers, and all the best.
Scotty
12 REPLIES 12

Mtn_Hiker
Explorer
Explorer
I had a 2005 Excel and what worked for me was the "Roadmaster Active Suspension and Michelin LTX truck tires. I also had the spacers and Blister shocks, but the Roadmaster and Michelin tires where the key to better acceptable handling.

Travelin2
Explorer
Explorer
We owned a 2003 Pleasure-way Excel for 2 years and about 8000 miles. It handled very good. It didn't have the rear wheel spacers. Pleasure-Way does have recommendations on the front alignment specs. Running the rear tires at the max pressure (80psi) and the front at 65 is the ticket. The air bags should be about 50-55psi.

If you do decide to add wheel spacers, avoid the China knock-offs. The prices are very inviting but what you are really inviting is your own demise. Make SURE they are Made in America....not "assembled in America". Stay safe and good luck.

Also one word about Pleasure-Way....Very well built. We sold only because we want something larger.
John & Gloria
South West, Florida
2009 Leisure Travel Serenity

gregirish1954
Explorer
Explorer