cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

August 21, 2017 Solar Eclipse - any tips

campersuzid
Explorer
Explorer
Getting questions from readers of forestcamping.com about the 8/21/17 solar eclipse. The swath where you'll see a total eclipse passes thru at least a dozen national forests and one grassland. Should be awesome but I have little knowledge of such an event. Can you provide some thoughts, tips, or suggestions I can pass on to forestcamping.com readers? Thank you.
45 REPLIES 45

pnichols
Explorer II
Explorer II
MidWestMama wrote:
I'll be out in the middle of nowhere in the Nebraska Sandhills.

Outstanding ... now that's the way to do it!!
2005 E450 Itasca 24V Class C

MidWestMama
Explorer
Explorer
fanrgs wrote:
Incidentally, every campground and RV park in western Nebraska is filled to capacity for the night of August 20.

Newbie here...

Some of the smaller towns in Nebraska are just starting to prepare for the Eclipse. If you look, there are still a lot of options available that are super affordable. For example, Hyannis, NE is expecting 2 minutes 19 seconds of totality and has some accommodations available with options for hook-ups, and space for camping. I think they are advertising at https://www.sandhillsareachamber.com/2017-solar-eclipse Just an hour south is a great lake for camping, fishing and boating-Lake McConaughy for the weekend before and days afterwards.

Best of luck and hope you all find great locations to view the Eclipse!! I'll be out in the middle of nowhere in the Nebraska Sandhills. 🙂

fanrgs
Explorer
Explorer
Some astronomers in Denver have arranged a one-day bus trip to Nebraska for the eclipse. The total right now is 17 buses with 55 passengers each and the group is trying to find more buses for those on the waiting list. Not Rvers, but enough people to make the group one of the largest "communities" in western Nebraska!