cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

DIY film removable from front of MH.

Ivylog
Explorer III
Explorer III
I've been putting off starting this project for several years and I'm too cheap to pay $1000 to have it removed. Posted on here that I was going to start and KDK sent me a PM to call him... he was on his second removal and he had found the secret to removing the glue. He said to go to Lowe's and buy Orange Squeeze air freshener... yes a citrus air freshener and it really works. Still takes a fair amount of scraping with a plastic razor blade and it does not soften the clear coat.

I used a heat gun to soften the film and and was able to take it off in razor blade widths fairly quickly... 20" in 45 seconds. I wimped out on doing the two black sections... only doing the 2' X 9' center center section. I wet sanded the black sections and painted them with black plastic paint. You can still see the cracks but only if you get up close and almost straight on. MAYBE next year I'll get motivated to remove the black sections... NOT likely
That
I did not do this all at once but I have 8-10 hours in removing the film/glue and another 6 hours sanding , masking and painting the two black sections.

Here are some pictures:
You can see the strips of film removed and the next strip to be removed.

Finished product.
This post is my opinion (free advice). It is not intended to influence anyone's judgment nor do I advocate anyone do what I propose.
Sold 04 Dynasty to our son after 14 great years.
Upgraded with a 08 HR Navigator 45โ€™...
13 REPLIES 13

Executive45
Explorer III
Explorer III
Mine was fine until I spent a month in Alabama and three months in Florida. Seems like the "junk" appeared overnight. 3M film does NOT like humidity.:E....Dennis
We can do more than we think we can, but most do less than we think we do
Dennis and Debi Fourteen Years Full Timing
Monaco Executive M-45PBQ Quad Slide
525HP Cummins ISM 6 Spd Allison