cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Freightliner Rear Axle Hubcap Removal

tomkat4725
Explorer
Explorer
I'm New to Freightliner Chassis. How do you remove the chrome plated rear axle cover?
17 REPLIES 17

DSDP_Don
Explorer
Explorer
Delete Duplicate
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 - All Electric
2019 Ford Raptor Crew Cab

FIRE_UP
Explorer
Explorer
Do you have $14? Here it is...
Hubcap Wrench
As the second owner of the coach I was unable to find where the original owner hid the wrench.
Pat in Menifee, CA

Thanks PCarnathan,
I looked all over the place on the net in both ebay and Amazon to find that wrench so I could post it and help the OP but, couldn't find it 'cause I didn't know what the terminology was to type in.
Scott

Posted By: Belgique on 01/19/17 06:19am

Thanks for this thread! New to us 40XC and could not figure this out. Used to F53 with the 2 "nuts" that had a line on them to indicate that they were the ones to unscrew.

Are the front wheels different? Both of mine are missing but will be at Gaffney in a few weeks.

Sound's and reads kind-a funny the way you wrote it. "Both of mine are missing", what's missing, BOTH WHEELS? Chuckle...
If your wheels are the Alcoa or, Accuride alloys, no, there's no two "Marked" lug nuts that hold a wheel simulator on 'cause, there's no simulator. Your wheels are held on with 10 lug nuts that are torqued to 450 lbs.each.

Scott

Posted By: Belgique on 01/19/17 06:21am

BTW, Fireup your basement storage is disgusting :-). You make me hang my head in shame. Nice job

Thank you Sir,
It's kind-of a hobby. It's not an "OCD" thing. It's more of a "just like things organized" thing so that, when I need something, I know where it is so I don't have to look for hours knowing I have it, just don't know where it is.
Scott
Scott and Karla
SDFD RETIRED
2004 Itasca Horizon, 36GD Slate Blue 330 CAT
2011 GMC Sierra 1500 Ext Cab 4x4 Toad
2008 Caliente Red LVL II GL 1800 Goldwing
KI60ND

Belgique