cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Picking up wi-fi from ap[roximately 400 ft. away.

Retired_andLove
Explorer
Explorer
I need to pick up a signal from a router that is approx 400 ft from from remote setup. Need suggestions for directional antenna and proper router to use. Source building is a cement structure. Roof is metal membrain.
Randy & Dianne
2013 Tiffin Allegro
16 REPLIES 16

Rufas
Explorer
Explorer
accsys wrote:
The Ubiquity system in ***Link Removed*** is inexpensive and easy to set up.

I've been using Ubiquit for a couple of years with great results.

I have a newer setup in our motorhome. I'm using my old setup at my MIL's to remotely monitor her thermostat. I'm accessing a neighbor's wifi about 1/10 a mile away without issues.

My old router is an old Cradlepoint MBR 1000

Gulfcoast
Explorer
Explorer
Looks good... let us know how it works.
RV'ing since 1960
Dodge Cummins Diesel
Mega Cab
Jayco Travel Trailer

Retired_andLove
Explorer
Explorer
cable would be a easy option but I don't have that luxury. This is what I'm looking at.Bear extender
Randy & Dianne
2013 Tiffin Allegro

Isaac-1
Explorer
Explorer
I have used various directional wifi antennas on a variety of projects over the years, in fact this message is being posted using one on a partly obstructed connection of about 1200 ft. In my experience Yagi's don't work well if there are any obstructions at all. Best are mesh dishes, but they are relatively large 18x24 inches or so. For smaller directional antennas most of the sector antennas perform fairly well and are somewhat directional, but the best small antenna for this sort of thing is the backfire antennas sold by L-com. they are about 6-8 inches across.

GordonThree
Explorer
Explorer
If you go with just doing antenna, you'll want one on both sides
2013 KZ Sportsmen Classic 200, 20 ft TT
2020 RAM 1500, 5.7 4x4, 8 speed

rwbradley
Explorer
Explorer
Just a few comments