cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New (maybe) Class A owner and Jeep JK

MetalGator
Explorer III
Explorer III
We might be pulling the trigger on a new Class A motorhome this weekend. I have a 2015 Jeep wrangler JK that I would like to use as a toad. I currently have a TT so I am totally new to the motorhome thing. I know there are several hitches and supplemental breaking systems available. I currently have a Blue Ox sway pro for pulling my TT and I really like it. So what is the minimum setup I would need to get my Jeep hooked up? Do I need supplemental breaking? Anything else I need to be aware of? If I do purchase the motorhome, I was going to talk to the dealer about getting all the necessary equipment maybe purchased and setup during the negotiations. Is this a good idea or should I purchase the equipment on my own and just pay them for installation? Any suggestions comments would be appreciated.
2018 Miramar 35.3 Motorhome
3 fur kids (Monty, ZuZu and Pinto)
Rainbow bridge (Murphy, Petie, Lola)
13 REPLIES 13

Highway_4x4
Explorer
Explorer
I am where the OP is but don't have the jeep or MH yet. Still in research and info mode but do have the short list. MH will be a newer but used Newmar Bay Star at 32 ft or less and towing a Wrangler Rubicon to be bought soon. I will be traveling alone with my Bernese Mtn Dog. Present rig is a Ram diesel and a OutdoorsRV TT and is works OK but want the ability to explore more and more room for Berners plus ease of setup. The fear is no ability to back up. I get cold feet over this every day. Once I make the switch there is no going back. A MH is a big $$$$ item that falls like a rock in value. I'll probably just go with all BlueOx system with a Ft bumper on the Jeep designed for a tow bar.
2014 Ram Cummins Laramie, Crew cab, 4x4, Loaded, Snugtop camper
2014 OutdoorsRV Wind River 250RDSW
Big spoiled Bernese Mountain Dog

dubdub07
Explorer
Explorer