cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

After all these years...It Happened to me!!

ccxnola
Explorer
Explorer
I have been driving Class "A" rigs since 1997. Been a Good Sam Member almost that long. Good Sam has saved my bacon on several past breakdowns and this time when I experienced my first real 'accident', they did everything by the book and once again I am happy with my annual membership.

My Accident?? I am driving on the Interstate Highway at about 58-60 MPH in the right lane - I usually stay at 60 thereabouts except if I need to pass a slower vehicle. So there I am, enjoying the drive, but now alone since the love of my life and co-pilot went to be with Jesus and the Angels 9 weeks ago - trying to keep a positive outlook and attitude. Then...BANG!!! I look-up to the rear monitor and I see my toad drifting away and back! Thanks goodness for safety cables!!

I slowly stop to the shoulder and note another car pulling off behind me. I get out to see what had happened - fearing I had caused some problem - but NO!! The other driver drove right into the back of my toad at about 70 MPH - the speed limit there. Back of the toad is pushed-in and it is then pushed into the back of the MoHo - breaking the Aladdin towbar at the ball and also breaking the tow hitch by bending it up and into the back of the rig.
No one hurt, but what an unexpected incident!! The toad is at a dealer repair shop 200 miles from home. The rig is drivable and I did make it home - and now I must go through the paperwork to get everything fixed back the way it was. The other driver was cited by the state trooper for 'careless operation', so I hope the insurance claim will not be difficult.

Sometimes, 'stuff' just happens!!
2001 National Tradewinds 7370 mid-entry DP w/CAT 3126b Diesel
Look for the Mardi Gras 'Gators - Laissez le bon temps roulez - Let the good times roll!!

21 REPLIES 21

Hikerdogs
Explorer
Explorer