cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Baking muffins in rv oven for the first time...gasp!

dcason
Explorer
Explorer
I want them to come out not burnt and inedible. Actually i've never used my rv oven for anything before...a stove top cooker I am.

So do these ovens typically run hot/cold or any tips? I made diy muffin mix (gluten and dairy free) to bring and want those chocolate muffins to be wonderful.

Donna
26 REPLIES 26

fulltimedaniel
Explorer
Explorer
One hint to find out a lot about your RV oven (I use mine all the time) is to take a flat sheet pan and cover with one layer of white bread slices put in the oven at 350. Put in an oven thermometer (this is essential in an RV oven)

Leave the bread for a few minutes until it starts to brown. Take it out and you will have a great Heat Map of your little oven and will know the hot side/spots.

To keep things from burning on the bottom I just put in a sheet of Aluminum foil bright side down on the solid metal divider shelf. this works every bit as well as the more expensive solutions and helps keep the oven clean too.

JnJnKatiebug
Explorer
Explorer
Before you spend the money for the stone try using two pans. We have been doing this for years. Just put one pan inside the other and put it in the oven. Ours come out perfect.
2016 Chevy Tahoe
2017 Flagstaff 26FKWS
(Picture in profile)

"The best things in life are the people you love, the places you've seen,
and the memories you've made along the way".

SwanInWA
Explorer
Explorer
matt7591 wrote:
The RV requires practice. You will need to monitor the muffins. You will need to presume that the first attempt will not be good. The size of the oven matters. A smaller one will be more unwieldy but if it's a bigger one in a larger RV it will be closer to a home unit. I like to have a thermometer in the oven as the temp scale is not precise.