cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Get a new TT or stick with the old

Fisch06
Explorer
Explorer
I am relatively new to all of this. Purchased a 1997 jayco eagle 230 to hunt out of. Now wife and dogs and I are planning to camp. Quarters are a bit tight and we went to a show and drooled over the new ones. We looked at jayco and rockwood. Loved them both and really liked the windows on the rockwood. Loved two year warranty from jayco and the fact that everything seemed high quality in both the mini lite and the jay feather.
So knowing we are only a couple with two lazy hound dogs, do we give it a go in a tight old school eagle or trade for slides and luxury keeping in mind I will hunt out of it again. TV is 2012 sierra 2500 6.0
Help!
10 REPLIES 10

theoldwizard1
Explorer
Explorer
New RVs loose a lot of value in the first couple of years. Shop for one that is 2-4 years old.

scbwr
Explorer II
Explorer II
If you are going to be using a travel trailer for new purposes i.e. traveling to new places, extended camping trips, seeing the country then I would suggest getting a newer trailer. But if you're not sure what will really meet your needs, save a few bucks and buy a lightly used trailer. You need to travel in a trailer to see how much space you really need and what ammenities are important.

We really like having an outdoor kitchen and use it a lot. However, it is a feature that isn't found on many trailers. We take longer trips (6 weeks or so) and like to have storage space. And we like to have a decent sized bathroom. We bought our 2201DS because it had those features but could be easily towed by our Tundra. But we did get tired of only having a dinette and no couch, so we just took out the dinette and replaced it with a couch and end table which I think we are really going to enjoy when we head out for trip down south next week.