cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Building my own truck camper

Rebic
Explorer
Explorer
Hello, I am new here and would like to introduce myself. My name is Ante and I would like to build a truck camper. I am a college student and have never built anything of these proportions, but I have a good knowledge of physics, some free time and determination. I am also willing to learn.

I am an honors student and in order to finish the program I need to do a project that stretches over 2 semesters. So I decided to build something that could last for travels after college. I got tired of tent camping.

Facts:

The program gives me $3000 and I am willing to invest some of my money. I have an option of buying things for almost a year before building it and I am will be attending a lot of garage sales and going to junkyards. Of course Ebay is also an option.

I have available my girlfriends 2013 F150 XLT 5.5' bed SuperCrew with the OEM towing package, aftermarket stiffer shocks and airbags. The camper should be within 1500 lbs.

Dimensions I have so far are 6.5ft long (in the bed), 8ft wide, 8 ft tall, with the overhang (over the cab) of 6ft.

I'm planing on making it out of lumber (2x4's primarily), and plywood walls on the inside (that give more support to the frame), insulation in the walls, and some kind of plastic on the exterior with a sealant. Jacks and tiedowns to the truck are a must! I would also like to have 3 outside storage compartments and a door.

I would like to have some solar panels, a 12V 100Ah deep cycle battery, led lighting, small refrigerator (already have), small microwave (already have), vents, power controller, wiring, 3-4 outlets, outside receptacle, and if money permits a small tv and an ac unit (those could be added in later years).

For water I only want a sink with a 15 gal tank and an electrical or manual water pump.

Also, I would like a propane cooking stove and a propane heater.