cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I need to register and get insurance on my truck camper?

Alicia92860
Explorer
Explorer
6 months ago I bought a 2000 Fleetwood Angler camper cash off someone off Craigslist. They gave me no paperwork. I did see label showing VIN#. Last week while driving off-road it was really windy and camper with truck was swaying that's when I realized I probably should be insuring the camper. Anyhow I'm new to all this so just wondering what others think. Thank you
17 REPLIES 17

youngm357
Explorer
Explorer
Mine is a 1996 and to an insurance company worth $1000 on a good day so I don't insure it. I also have an Angler it's an 8a which means no brake or turn lights so I consider it cargo. Maybe it should be registered but it lives in the back corner of the barn. When I bought it used I just got a written bill of sale.

pbrooks101
Explorer
Explorer
A few years ago my neighbor's tree fell on my camper in my yard while off my truck. Camper was totaled. I had a separate policy on my camper to cover collision and comprehensive. This policy covered the totaled camper with an agreed payout by insurance company. I asked my insurance company about my homeowners policy covering any of the damage and (in the fine print) they told me that my homeowners would have only covered up to $3000 damage, to include any other damage/clean-up that needed to be done.

Also, as mentioned above by the poster that contacted GEICO, my insurance company told me that my truck insurance only covers liability as the camper is "cargo" under that policy but if I were to have a wreck and damage my camper while on the truck, the separate camper policy would cover any claim. My premium at the time was only $68.00/year for the comprehensive and collision so well worth the added security. I now pay about $200/year for the same coverage but I also have a newer camper...