cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Golf cart batteries vs storage vs charging??

evy
Explorer
Explorer
Hi everybody!

Quick question for you today.

I'm building a campervan conversion out of a Ford E250 high top van.

I'm new to all of this and it's my second year of building this thing (part time)

I live in canada but I order a lot of equipment online in the USA and I have it delivered near the border then I go down to get it.
I did that a couple of times now and I saved a lot of money (even if the exchange rate is not good for us)

Most of the equipment is just sitting there in my garage with my campervan waiting for installation.

Among the equipment, I have two 6 volt GC2 golf cart acid batteries that I bought at Sam's club in July (summer 2016)
https://www.samsclub.com/sams/duracell-golf-car-battery-group-size-gc2/prod3590228.ip

I wanted to know if it's ok to leave them there until I hook them up? or do I need to put a trickle charger/smart charger on them?

My garage is not heated but it is connected to the rest of the house so it's around 50deg F most of the time, the coldest it will get is around 40deg F.

Thanks for any advice!

Almot
Explorer III
Explorer III
evy wrote:
In order to plug the trickle/smart charger on the batteries I need to convert them to 12 volts, I need to buy a short wire to do so, is 4 gauge big enough? and which terminal do I use? the threaded one or the bigger one? from what I see on google image most people use the threaded one.

It's amazing that this project (5 months?) didn't end up in magnificent fireworks yet. Perhaps a sheer luck.

Yes, 4 gauge is big enough. 14 or 18 gauge will be sufficient. Any piece of old lamp cord. Terminal type doesn't matter, for this application.

For eventual use on a camping, that #4 cable from Canadian Tire will do.

DrewE
Explorer
Explorer
evy wrote: