cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

leaving wdh on tow vehicle

Kathy_V
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to RVing. I have a Keystone Bullet 2070 with a wdh and sway bar system. Not sure of all the technical terms, but I think I got that right. ๐Ÿ™‚ My question is, as a woman taking that wdh hitch on and off my tow vehicle, a 2016 Nissan Frontier, is a little more than I can handle alone. Is it okay to leave that on my truck, using a hitch lock I am thinking, while I am traveling? I would have help removing it when I return home. The longest it would be on my truck would be a couple weeks or so. Also, if it is okay to leave it on any tips or suggestions about the bars/chains and keeping them in place (do they swing around while moving if not hitched?) and preventing them from dragging? Thank you! Kathy V.
29 REPLIES 29

cbshoestring
Explorer
Explorer
dodge guy wrote:
cbshoestring wrote:
REALLY FOLKS....if you are busting a knee on a hitch that does not belong to you. You ARE WALKING WAY TO CLOSE TO someone else's property...walk around----that is how those UNKNOWN scratches appear of vehicles.

I had a lady complain one time that she had to "push her cart into oncoming traffic to go around THAT THING". I asked her why she needed to push her cart within a foot of my bumber, when there is an entire parking lot to push it in? Did she expect me to move it so she can see how close to my tailgate she can get without scratching it?

I do store it in the front compartment of the TT most of the time, but I might not remove it for a quick trip to town from the CG.

If it's in a public parking lot and I'm walking around a car backing or pulling out and I don't notice it and walk into it expect some type of payback, let your imagination run with whatever you think of. It could be an insurance claim against you, or you may find something else!!!!! Let your imagination run wild!