cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Direct TV - extra bedroom receiver in motorhome

mc_cc
Explorer
Explorer
I am considering switching my home service to Direct TV so I can use one of the extra bedroom receivers in my motorhome. This use to work perfectly fine with the older receivers, but can we still do this with the newer receivers supplied by Direct for those with newer service?
Mark
12 REPLIES 12

Snomas
Explorer
Explorer
I've been using Direct since 2000 and now have a traveler DTV dish wired to the front tv only for HDTV and take the DVR from the house to the RV. I didn't run a wire from the splitter to the bedroom so no DTV there. I use only the antennae or campground cable in the bedroom. Most campground cable is Standard definition. That seems to be adequate since we only sleep there most of the time and watch our front TV the majority of the time. I converted both analog TV's to Vizio 32 " flat screen smart TV's.
2006 WINNEBAGO ASPECT 29H Ford E450 Super Duty
2018 F150 Lariat Crew Cab, Coyote 5.0 L RWD

Goldencrazy
Explorer
Explorer
The Genie is great however the wireless is not quite that simple. You will need a bridge to transmit the signal and it requires about six feet or more from the base unit. Still a great option as you can place a tv anywhere within range with only AC plug in required.

Bill_Satellite
Explorer II
Explorer II
mc.cc
If your head is spinning you can drop me a PM and I will help you with some clarifications.
What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

PCarnathan
Explorer
Explorer
We've been DirecTV customers for years; we do not use the Genie system. We keep two receivers in the RV - They're only about $10 per month each. And, yes, they're HD.

Pat in Menifee, CA
2009 Mandalay 43A
2009 Honda CR-V Toad
2011 Toyota Tacoma
2013 Honda Goldwing
2003 Honda TRX400ex (2)