cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Health Insurance questions for full timers.

ulvik
Explorer
Explorer
We are thinking about going full time next year and our only uncertainty is health insurance. We live in Tennessee and are both around 50 years old and make around 50k a year. Any ideas on what it would cost us and who provides such coverage. We currently have Humana and it runs us around $400 a month after tax credits. Any ideas because it is the only thing dampening our plans.
2018 Ram 3500 DRW
2015 Heartland Big Country 3650RL
Great Smokey Mountains
30 REPLIES 30

Diana808
Explorer
Explorer
TechWriter wrote:
Diana808 wrote:
What other actions can I take to support my claim that I am a resident?

Read this post and consider the following quote from this post:
. . . someone visiting a state for a transitory purpose, for example, to obtain medical care, do not meet the residency requirement for Marketplace coverage for the Marketplace service area they are visiting

Thank you TechWriter, I read your post and saved it for future reference. I will ask my current CPA for a referral to an Oregon CPA. Between the advice of that professional and my Escapees insurance broker, I will do my best to take action to establish residency in OR.

Failing that, I am also looking at establishing residency in Panama. Getting health insurance there would cover me for six months in North America as well.
Diana & Michael
Hawaii Island and Alaska

TechWriter
Explorer
Explorer
jorbill2or wrote:

Residing in Oregon for health care reasons only causes other problems .. Taxes ..

Taxes run a distant second to the cost of health care.
2004 - 2010 Part Timer (35โ€™ 2004 National RV Sea Breeze 8341 - Workhorse)
2010 - 2021 Full Timer (41โ€™ 2001 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095 DP - Cummins)
2021 - ??? Part Timer (31โ€™ 2001 National RV Sea View 8311 - Ford)
www.rvSeniorMoments.com
DISH TV for RVs

jorbill2or
Explorer II
Explorer II