cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Do I really need Torklift Stable Loads

bs49
Explorer
Explorer
I am contemplating purchasing these stable loads for my truck. I have a 2008 Silverado 3500 HD Dually Long Bed. I am carrying a 2015 Palomino HS-2902 with a weight I estimate to be between 3,500 and 4,000 wet and loaded (dry weight according to manufacturer is 3,100). I will be either flat towing a Jeep Wrangler 2 door JK or pulling my aluminum Tracker V16 fishing boat.

I am new to truck campers but do seem to have some top heavy sway when driving past rain gutters or turning. However when I look at my leaf springs the lower leaf is very close to touching and some are actually touching already. When I hitch my boat then I definitely see all lower leaf springs touching.

Do I still need Stable Loads if my lower leaf spring activates already? I do not know how to insert pics to make it more clear. I want peoples input before shelling out another $300. MY suspension is stock right now. Thanks.

Here are what they look like with just the camper

and this is after hitching boat

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 HD Diesel Dually Long Bed
2015 Palomino HS-2902 Truck Camper
2003 Tracker Deep V16 Aluminum Fishing Boat
27 REPLIES 27

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
Your truck is easy to put lowers in because there's a hole in the leaf.
If you do that though, the upper overloads may not even engage. Then you're just leaving some spring capacity on the table.
If you're happy with the ride height, get a sway bar , imo. Sway bar will help more with the top heavy rocking than blocking the springs.
You can try some simple lower blocks, or even make permanent ones easily for cheap.
My material of choice is plastic felling wedges. Drill a hole in each one. Countersink a bolt into it and bolt them in.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

Tom_Anderson
Explorer