cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Sway Control Info

hoping4fun66
Explorer
Explorer
While I am not new to towing, I have towed 5th Wheels for many years, I am new to towing a TT. Wife and I are looking to get a smaller TT, something around 21 to 22 feet, with a weight of about 3,500 dry weight.

Weights are not a concern at all, my tow vehicle is a RAM 3500 dually. So my question is, what concerns do I have with sway? I assume I do not need to worry about a WDH? There is no way I can overload my truck with this camper. But I also assume that I still need to worry about sway?

I just do not want a salesman talking me into a expensive hitch setup if I do not need one.

Scott
17 REPLIES 17

Hannibal
Explorer
Explorer
We just returned from north Florida. It was windy both ways and we felt it quite a bit but nothing scary. We have no sway control with our Reese HP trunion style hitch towing our 32.5' TT. What we did notice as traffic was thick and it made for conversation was, as we were passed by a few and we passed a few TT's, they were all being pushed around as much as we were. We saw one Husky Centerline, one Blue Ox and several Equalizer hitches.
Properly loaded TT "to me" means chosing a TT with the axles set back more toward the rear, a floor plan that doesn't encourage rear loading and the load goes between the trailer wheels and tongue.
2020 F250 STX CC SB 7.3L 10spd 3.55 4x4
2010 F250 XLT CC SB 5.4L 5spdTS 3.73
ex '95 Cummins,'98 12v Cummins,'01.5 Cummins,'03 Cummins; '05 Hemi
2017 Jayco 28RLS TT 32.5'

myredracer
Explorer II
Explorer II
wing_zealot wrote:
myredracer wrote:
troubledwaters wrote:
If a trailer is properly loaded it won't sway.
Ya know, I hear people say that often and I don't quite get it. Just how does one load a trailer "properly"? This isn't aimed at you, I have simply seen that said by others over the years....