cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Hot Water Heater on electric or gas

Which way would the water heater be more efficient? Will be using my Onan this weekend and wondering if it matters what setting I use ??

I am new to the Onan, can you tell ?? :B
Me-Her-the kids
2020 Ford F350 SD 6.7
2020 Redwood 3991RD Garnet
21 REPLIES 21

Bobbo
Explorer II
Explorer II
Winnebago has "Motor-Aid" on a lot of their motorhomes. A hose carrying antifreeze from the engine is routed to a pipe in the water heater that carries the antifreeze through the center of the water heater, heating the water as you drive. When you get to the campground, the water is pre-warmed, if not pre-heated.

The MH I sold today had that feature. It worked.
Bobbo and Lin
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab w/Max Tow Package 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB

K3WE
Explorer
Explorer
I disagree with a lot of the posts here.

To burn gasoline to make electricity to turn around and make heat is generally inefficient- particularly with a small engine.

Gas engines are not all that efficient...lots of heat blows out the exhaust, lots of heat blows off from cylinder heads and crank case and etc. Then your generator even has a cooling fan, and the wires to the water heater can heat up...lots of waste.

Lots of good heat that could OTHERWISE been used to heat water.

The water heater isn't 100% efficient either, but the burning gas goes 'directly' to heat up the water, instead of being blown off from a cylinder head, muffler etc. (At least it goes a lot MORE directly).

Now, I also get it that there's additional layers of complication. "The generator is already running"...that might move the scales some. LP from the camp store can sometimes be pricy versus gasoline- and $ wise? Who knows.

Also, there's a lazy factor...filling the gasoline tank can be easier than unhooking the LP tank, hauling it to the refill place, hauling it back, reinstalling it.