cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Rent or Buy for 10 month trip?

MickiJeana
Explorer
Explorer
I have a window of opportunity to be without a home, and travel while I work, from August to May 2018. Want to live in something like a 25' Winnebago Spirit and travel around the US. I would work out of my 'home'. After August would want to sell my RV, if I chose to buy one. Question is: should I buy a used RV or try to find a long term rental? I am a total newbie.
28 REPLIES 28

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
^ you could get a decent class C for the $35k and keep it, although based on your last post, I'd want something fairly new, less potential issues, so maybe you're looking at $50k. Either way, you'd be hard pressed to lose $35k on a used rv in 1 year unless you bought it totally wrong or trashed it.

Don't freak out about the "constant" repairs. It's not like these things are rolling remodeling projects. Yes you could need repairs. No it's not likely huge or serious issues. Drivetrain and chassis, no more than the average car with similar miles (if you're talking newer models). Camper portion, appliances and the like are pretty darn relaible. Not worth blowing $35-40k into the wind on a rental. If you have that much money, save some of it by buying and then selling.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
You can get a decent TT or 5ER for the cost of the rental so why not, and when you are done you own it.

Now. there is a danger in this... You might decide to KEEP IT AND USE IT :>)
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

jplante4
Explorer
Explorer