Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Charging house battery

Homestead_or_Bu
Explorer
Explorer
Hey folks!
Relatively newbie here. Thanks for your help...

2 questions here for a 98 coachmen c class.

1) QUESTION - can I safely charge the house battery with my external genius charger, while the house battery is still completely connected to the RV...in place as it would be in operation? If needing adjustment or disconnect- what are details- for example- All the way out or just terminal wires disconnected...?
DETAILS-
Trying to optimize my house battery. It reads okay- 11-12 volts. BUT when I run the fantastic fan and bathroom fan all day (without anything else drawing from it, it goes down to 7 or 8 by end of day or sooner. Shore power of course charges it back up, and it did just come out of winter storage, where it held a charge and the engine was started throughout the winter, so it never got drained down. I did take readings.
Now, I'd like to give it a restorative charge from the new genius chargers on the market. Have it already. They have a setting that "reconditions", helping with any sulfating that might occur to restore the battery. I will once again check the cells for any need of water before doing so, as that could be the thing, though last time I checked there were fine. I cleaned battery terminals, but need to coat them with protective substance- like petroleum jelly or...

The time for a new battery may be approaching, but of course I want to do all I can to avoid or delay that if I can restore it.

I know details sometimes help with triggering your brilliant answers and even things unthought of otherwise, so thanks for reading through.

2) Question- other charging options?
-When shore power is connected- I know my house battery receives a charging from that, when my battery disconnect switch that is in the 'IN USE" position.