Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to RV lifestyle, need to know if this is normal

Dklonin
Explorer
Explorer
Greetings all!

I tried a search and didn't find a good answer to my question so I hope this is the right area.

I have a 2015 Keystone Sprinter 299RET. It has a 15k BTU AC unit and prepped for a second. Now I am actually a certified Universal HVAC tech (haven't touched an AC unit in 30 years though) and while I know how AC units work, I am not familiar with how they work in an RV.

Our unit isn't cooling the coach down. It's working and blowing cool air but before I go yelling at the service department or asking for a warranty replacement, I need to ask this question.

What is a reasonable coach temperature that can be expected on a 85 degree day, moderate humidity in direct sunlight?

I have had the unit running on 78 degree days and it's 74 inside with the unit running on high. Recently, it was 87 outside and 88 inside. The people with a similar size coach with one AC on the same day had their coach inside temp at 70. I suspect I have an air leak somewhere. I used a laser thermometer and found hot spots inside the air return prior to the evaporator. I think that is my issue. But what is a realistic temperature I can expect on my size coach with one AC on a warm summer day?

Thanks!
14 REPLIES 14

ktmrfs
Explorer
Explorer
I've got a outback 295RE. similar to yours. this size trailer is very marginal with one AC unit. get it started in the morning and it will keep the trailer cool, but run almost constantly when temps get into the high 80's.

Don't expect it to cool the trailer down if you wait till the trailer is already in the 80's before you turn it on.
2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III