cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Coleman Mach 3 AC replacement

roadjunkie
Explorer
Explorer
I talked to a guy the other day that does AC work on RV's and he's recommending a new unit. He says it sounds like the fan motor and he could replace it but since the compressor is over 10 years old, it could go next.

The unit is $650 according to him, although I found it online on one site that I know nothing about for $458. He wants about $950 the unit and installation plus tax. Is this something that's easy to do? I have no experience with working on RV's or AC's.
13 REPLIES 13

darsben1
Explorer
Explorer
roadjunkie wrote:
Getting the unit on the roof would not be a problem. I have access to a John Deere tractor with a loader here at the RV park. I'm 250 pounds. Is the roof sturdy enough for me to be crawling around up there?

Unless there is a problem with the roof you will be fine walking on it.
Traveling with my best friend, my wife in a 1990 Southwind

roadjunkie
Explorer
Explorer
Getting the unit on the roof would not be a problem. I have access to a John Deere tractor with a loader here at the RV park. I'm 250 pounds. Is the roof sturdy enough for me to be crawling around up there?

j-d
Explorer
Explorer
If you have the "Coleman" Mach Series, now sold by AirExcel or RVP/RV Products, that fan motor's about $100 on Amazon and a new capacitor about $10.

Common hand tools, wire nuts (or much better, crimp connectors) somebody to hand you the motor.