cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Books for DIY maintenance of a 2005 Itasca Sonova?

sclieu
Explorer
Explorer
Hi,
I'm completely new to RV and bought our first RV a few weeks ago. I'm not a mechanic but taught myself how to do a variety of maintenance repairs on my automobiles (brakes/shocks/struts/water pump/radiators/etc..). I also replaced the HV battery for the 2nd gen prius (surprisingly simple considering how much dealer charges for it).

I am looking for a book that is fairly specific to the Itasca Sonova RV so I can primarily keep the RV safe and reliable. My immediate concern is changing oil, and checking brakes. I've not seen any 'chilton/haynes' type manuals that is RV-model specific. The sheer size and weight of the RV is a bit intimidating.

Any suggestions?
6 REPLIES 6

msmith1199
Explorer
Explorer
Most books for things like this have been replaced by YouTube videos. You can find most anything there, just make sure that the person posting the video appears to know what they are talking about. And I know you want something specific to your motorhome, but most RV stuff can be fairly generic. For example you're looking for chassis maintenance info on your specific motorhome make and model, but many many other makes of motorhome will be on the exact same chassis as your motorhome. I have a National Tropical, but it sits on a Freightliner chassis with a caterpillar engine so when I look for maintenance stuff for the chassis, I'm searching Freightliner and Caterpillar, not National Motorhomes.

2021 Nexus Viper 27V. Class B+

2019 Ford Ranger 4x4

Clay_L
Explorer
Explorer
You can download the actual service manual and chassis guide HERE
Clay (WA5NMR), Lee (Wife), Katie & Kelli (cats) Salli (dog).

Fixed domicile after 1 year of snowbirding and eleven years Full Timing in a 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N, Workhorse chassis, Honda Accord toad

Hikerdogs
Explorer
Explorer