cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding higher, stop and turn signals on tt.

Jay_Pat
Explorer
Explorer
I ordered some LED stop and turn signal lights to mount up high on the rear of the travel trailer. Original plan was to run the wires along the outside surface of the travel trailer. I had planned to cover the wires with a wire cover track from one of the big box stores. I don’t like the thickness (too tall) of the covers. Re thinking this track idea.

So now, I’m starting consider running the wires behind the skin on the rear of the rv. I have pushed on the skin between the corners and the window. I’m not finding and horizontal supports in this area. I think I’m safe to snake the wires through this area. I've never done this before.

I would have to cut a hole large enough to guide the snake next to/along the backside of the skin (trying to stay out of the insulation). To cut a hole, I assume I would use a hole saw with a pilot drill adjusted close to the saw’s teeth ( keep pilot drill from drilling too deep). I’m thinking I need a hole large enough to guide the snake along the backside of the skin(not sure how to enlarge the hole as needed to guide the snake).

Now, my fears… Cutting an ugly hole and I can't get the wires snaked to where I need them.

I’m adding these lights so vehicles farther behind me can see what I’m doing.

Any thoughts? Thanks! Pat

2010 Ford F-350 SRW
2021 Grand Design Reflection 315
49 REPLIES 49

Bmach
Explorer II
Explorer II
I saw a utility trailer that had three factory installed brake lights going up each side. You could not miss it.

Jay_Pat
Explorer
Explorer
I ran the wires on the outside of the skin.
Covered with eternbond.
I need to post an image.
Pat
2010 Ford F-350 SRW

Jay_Pat
Explorer
Explorer
73guna wrote:
I like what your doing.
I drive OTR and anytime someone lights up the back of their vehicle for the reasons you provide, gets a thumbs up from me.

Thank you!
2010 Ford F-350 SRW