cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

class a motorhomes

machunt
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here looking for info on class A. Pro,s and con,s for the ford chasis. that is chasis with larger wheels compared the smaller wheels. ford triton v 10
20 REPLIES 20

roam1
Explorer
Explorer
I think A with 22.5 wheels is likely to have larger basement storage and margin on tire's max weight rating but buyer needs to check! not all A's created equal!

Dutch_12078
Explorer
Explorer
cross21114 wrote:

WE almost bought a 2017 Bounder 36H today. Sleeps 7-8 but at the last second I looked at the weight tag. Rated only 22,000# and dry weight was 20,500#. Allowable weight of passengers and cargo only 1,500#. Not even enough to carry my family and gear. Other Bounders on same wheelbase are 24,000#. Did not buy the coach but dealer tried to sell us on a 2018 36H which is rated at 24,000#.

Any ideas why this difference?

Thanks

That's a question only the coach manufacturer can answer...
Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F53 chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
Bigfoot Automatic Leveling System
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox baseplate

cross21114
Explorer
Explorer
Dutch_12078 wrote:
The Ford F53 chassis currently used by all gas coach manufacturers comes in several wheel base lengths and weight capacities.

F-53 Class A Motorhome

WE almost bought a 2017 Bounder 36H today. Sleeps 7-8 but at the last second I looked at the weight tag. Rated only 22,000# and dry weight was 20,500#. Allowable weight of passengers and cargo only 1,500#. Not even enough to carry my family and gear. Other Bounders on same wheelbase are 24,000#. Did not buy the coach but dealer tried to sell us on a 2018 36H which is rated at 24,000#.

Any ideas why this difference?

Thanks
Chris
2018 Nexus Ghost 36DS
360 Cummins, 3000 Allison
2016 Ford Expedition

Bumpyroad
Explorer
Explorer
AllegroD wrote:
Bumpyroad wrote:
AllegroD wrote: