cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

mail address/physical address in different states

wannavolunteerF
Explorer
Explorer
As I am beginning to plan to move to FTing in a couple of years, I am struggling with the decision on mail services. Most I see limit have only a couple of state addresses. I am currently a lifelong Georgia resident, and don't have a real reason to change, as Georgia exempts retirement income from income taxes. My family owns a small timber farm that currently has no one residing on it, and I am planning to make that my "home base". It is about 30 miles from my mother, who will likely need more assistance as she ages and my only sibling. Neither of my children plan to live within hundreds of miles of the area, so are not close to be able to help.

Does anyone have a home/residence address in one state and a mailing address in another? Would I be better off for simplicity sake moving my residence to FL using one of the mail services? I don't see a huge advantage tax wise, but am thinking more in terms of dealing with banks, government agencies etc if I have a mail address one place and an actual physical locations in another state -- or even miles away in the same state?
2015 FR Georgetown 378TS
15 REPLIES 15

M_Collins
Explorer
Explorer
My daughter and son and law use a local mail place that now offers digital mail. They basically scan in your mail so you can see it, then you can decide if you want it mailed to wherever you are. They used to have to call in to the store and see if there was mail. Now they get it on their phone. The place they use is like a UPS store. Here is the link http://www.maildepot1.com/Products-Services/Virtual-Mailbox-Rental

delwhjr
Explorer
Explorer
AllenTC2 wrote: