cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

add another MPPT

foxxxnick
Explorer
Explorer
newbie here.There's a question that's been bugging me for a while now. Maybe someone knows the answer.

Here is a 100amp MPPT: https://www.renogy.com/rover-100-amp-mppt-solar-charge-controller/ It's the biggest single MPPT I can find. When it's maxed out, can I add another MPPT in parallel to the same battery bank? If not, how do you get 200amps into one bank of batteries?
12 REPLIES 12

Boomerweps
Explorer
Explorer
Have you looked into how connecting some panels in series can keep the amps lower while increasing the voltage to output the same wattage? Some controllers can accept higher voltages and still limit the output to battery acceptable voltages. Pardon the pun but panels in series is where the MPPT controllers โ€œshineโ€.
2019 Wolf Pup 16 BHS Limited, axle flipped
2019 F150 4x4 SCrew SB STX 5.0 3.55 factory tow package, 7000#GVWR, 1990 CC Tow mirrors, ITBC, SumoSprings,

StirCrazy
Nomad III
Nomad III
Cptnvideo wrote:
KD4UPL wrote:
Magnum also makes a 100 amp controller, the PT-100. They will communicate when used in multipole. Usually just adding multiple controllers will work but they work better if networked.
As for getting 200 amps into a battery, it needs to be capable of accepting that much current. As it charges it will take less and less charge.

Victron also makes a 100 amp MPPT controller. Mine is the 150/100, 150 VDC, 100 amps for 1500 watts.

renogy even makes a 100 amp controller
2014 F350 6.7 Platinum
2016 Cougar 330RBK
1991 Slumberqueen WS100

Cptnvideo
Nomad
Nomad
KD4UPL wrote:
Magnum also makes a 100 amp controller, the PT-100. They will communicate when used in multipole. Usually just adding multiple controllers will work but they work better if networked.
As for getting 200 amps into a battery, it needs to be capable of accepting that much current. As it charges it will take less and less charge.