cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

heat ideas

Jebby14
Explorer
Explorer
booked a weekend and the forcast is a but chilly. we ususaly camp with electricity. Not this time. Now I'm not too worried (talking 50's not freezing) but I have 2 little ones (one under a year). Any ideas on how to warm the camper without electricity or using the furnace (I don't trust the 30 year old furnace with my kids)
Q: Whats brown and sticky???

A: A Stick....
46 REPLIES 46

captnjack
Explorer
Explorer
drsteve wrote:
pickjare wrote:
I have no experience with buddy heaters. But I would not chance using that type with a new baby. The burning flame with no exhaust requires the right amount of fresh air and I really don't know what that amount is.

But Mr. Heater knows ๐Ÿ˜‰

The manual that came with my Big Buddy heater specifies a minimum opening of 18 square inches to provide fresh air and ventilation. They suggest opening your RV's roof vent.

Wouldn't the natural flow of air be OUT through the roof vent? The air inside the trailer once the heater is on will be under higher heat and higher pressure. Air masses move from areas of high heat and pressure to areas of low heat and pressure. What if there is a crosswind forcing air back into trailer via roof vent? It only takes a couple of miles an hour of wind to do this. Basically a barely noticeable amount of wind.
Ideally there would be a fresh air intake somewhere low and an exhaust port protected from wind somewhere high.
The fact that many people use a product without trouble for many years is no guarantee that the product is entirely foolproof. It is the so-called "freak accidents" that hurt and kill people. Follow-up investigations often reveal there was nothing "freaky" about the incident at all. Just physics and a particular set of circumstances.
I think the best advice by far is to make sure the trailer furnace system is up and running safely and protection is in place in the form of detectors.