Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Buying a truck camper in Canada for use in the US

Posted By: a_flyfisher on 10/09/16 06:42am

Hello all, again -

I contacted a Northern Lite dealer located near the factory in BC to ask what their price would be on a Northern Lite Camper. On the surface of things, the price looked pretty attractive.

Now, I'm wondering what would be required to bring this camper back into the US. Have any of you done this? If so, what are the requirements?

I suppose you would need to make certain the camper is built to meet US EPA, etc. requirements, have an invoice and pay the applicable duties (if any) and sales taxes.

The dealer says that there are no Canadian taxes on this camper, and that I would just have to pay the state sales tax. My situation is a bit more complicated in that regard since I am a legal resident of PA, but the camper would permanently reside in MT, where there are no sales taxes. I have a PA drivers license, and the truck I plan on using with this camper presently has a PA license (I could however license and title it in MT, if that would help in importing the camper from Canada, since the truck would then reside in MT).

On all of my other recreational vehicles that are licensed and titled in MT (a 5th wheel trailer, a boat, a couple trailers, an atv, etc.) they permanently reside in MT year round, so they all have titles in MT, and I never paid sales tax on them since MT doesn't have a sales tax. I couldn't get them titled in PA if I wanted to without physically bringing them back to PA.

Thanks, John

a_flyfisher

Posted By: Tripalot on 10/09/16 08:00am

Are you sure you need to licence the camper?
We live in Ontario and the camper was considered a load on a truck and only the truck needed to be licenced. We had to switch the plate from the truck to the camper when it was on the road as the licence plate would not be visible due to the camper overhang.