Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Sugestions for Entry Level Cheap Dinghy

rowekmr
Explorer
Explorer
Hello
Just got a Class A and want to try out a dinghy. We are a family of 3 just want to try a simple, light and older car/suv (fwd or 4wd/awd)that can be bought for less than 4k to see if it works for us. I am new to this but heard I will need base plate and tow bar, lights and brake hook up but I thought I read if less than 3K weight I won't need supplemental brakes. This MH already has tow bars attached to hitch I believe.

Any suggestions?
10 Lincoln MKS Ecoboost
07 Lincoln Navigator
00 Newmar Dutch Star 3851
22 REPLIES 22

rowekmr
Explorer
Explorer
I didn't get enough time to pick one before my planned trip so I took the maiden voyage without one. I have a Blue Ox hitch set up and some old brake equipment that I will have to check out to see what I can use and what I have to remove or replace. One benefit is I paid cheaper tolls lol But I do wish I had one ended up renting a minivan once I got here to transport everyone.
10 Lincoln MKS Ecoboost
07 Lincoln Navigator
00 Newmar Dutch Star 3851

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
Just how old?

Top candidate, if you need an automatic, would be Saturn S series, 1990-2000. Even most later Saturns work because they were on GM platforms using the 4T40E or 4T45E transmissions.

Which brings up the second big group: GM compact and mid-size sedans using the 4T40E/4T45E tranmissions, 1995 to 2010. Models include compact Cavalier, Cobalt, HHR, Sunfire, Alero and mid-size Malibu, Cutlass, Grand-Am, G6, and 2000-2004 Saturn L, 2005-2007 Saturn Ion, and certain models of Saturn Vue.

Also towable will be GM cars using 4T60E/4T65E, but these are not small, e.g. Equinox, Traverse, Impala-size cars.
Tom Test
Itasca Spirit 29B

fredandkathy
Explorer
Explorer
I tow a 2007 Jeep Compass with a 5 speed. Cheap and light. Mine only has 195,000 miles on it.

DryCreek
Explorer
Explorer
soren wrote: