cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Holiday Rambler

Roaderican
Explorer
Explorer
Ok, my better half n I are getting a mid 80's Preside tial...not sure of the year yet...(long story short it belonged to a friend) and we are TOTAL NEWBS

What do we look for as far as chassis, engine, mpgs....you know all the newb stuff.

Thanks
9 REPLIES 9

femailyetti
Explorer
Explorer
I am playing with a 86 holiday rambler in the A forum, it seems like a well built unit, Mine has a few things wrong that i am fixing, Have fun and be prepared to work on it your self, if you can to save a ton of money.

SEMO_Mike
Explorer
Explorer
Purchased a 1993 25 foot HR Alumalite in 2015 with 58,000 miles on it. It is well-built, all aluminum. Solid wood cabinets. It is an E350 with the Ford 460. I had all the belts, hoses, fluids, and tires replaced, as well as new caliphers, and then took it on a 13,000 trip to Alaska and back with no issues other than the fuel pump went out in Montana on the way home. Love it. I intended on selling it when we got back because we already had a fifth wheel but we like it too much. It is easy to get around anywhere. Fuel mileage is really affected by speed. At 70 mph - 7 mpg. At 60 mph - 9 mpg.

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
Roaderican wrote:
As a newb with n older HR what should i look out for n how would i go about lightening the load some for better fuel consumption....

Weight doesn't have much to do with fuel consumption, at highway speeds on mostly level roads. Most of your power is being used to push air around, and the way to reduce that is to slow down, because the power requirement goes up with approximately the cube of speed (linearly with road speed, and with the square of air speed).

10% reduction of weight will barely change fuel consumption, maybe 3%. But a 10% reduction in cruise speed could reduce fuel consumption as much as 23% other factors being equal.
Tom Test
Itasca Spirit 29B

Cobra21
Explorer
Explorer