cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Travel Trailer or Fifth Wheel?

JTIII
Explorer
Explorer
I'm looking to make my first purchase and going all-in as a full-timer. I will be solo and I have limited experience towing anything...as in NO experience ;). I've gotten contrasting opinions from dealership salesmen between the logistics of towing a TT or 5er. I will be purchasing a new tow vehicle to handle whatever trailer I decide upon. I figured there are probably some full-timers on here that have experience with both and didn't just read about it in the dealership brochure!
33 REPLIES 33

MarkTwain
Explorer
Explorer
Thunder Mountain wrote:
I've not been on this site for a while. I have not read any other responses. Been an RVer for a couple of decades. In my humble opinion, I would rather tow a fiver than a travel trailer hands down. Fivers just kind of melt into your tow vehicle as long as you have enough load capacity. Hanging a trailer on the tail of a tow vehicle is less stable especially for longer trailers. I'm assuming that you are looking at a trailer in the 33' + size. A fiver of that size is more stable at highway speeds especially in side winds. If you are looking at a small travel trailer, you would be better suited to buy a class C and towing a small toad.

X1, Agree, it is also easier and quicker to hitch and unhitch a 5th wheel. Backing up is a little different but only until a few practice trials. 5th wheels also have very large storage basements to carry all your RV junk:)

Thunder_Mountai
Explorer II
Explorer II