cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Water research for RVs

polish_texan
Explorer
Explorer
Hello Im a grad student from Lamar University doing research on water. I wanted to know how water is used in RVs of all sizes. Refilling, disposal, cost and problems if any!
Best!

MB
27 REPLIES 27

Groover
Explorer II
Explorer II
You might want to check other forums. For example, my class A carries 150% more water than my old truck camper did and you don't even feel the weight in the class A with its centrally mounted tank and auto leveling suspension. In the truck camper I had the holding tanks were behing the back bumper under the 4ft out the back overhang. When they were full the vehicle was not very comfortable to drive. I was much more concerned with finding places to dump while driving it. Many small campers have even more limited water facilities.

Groover
Explorer II
Explorer II
The main issues that I have encountered with fresh water are:
1) It doesn't taste good, largely because all public water has to be laced with toxic stuff to kill any germs

2) So much pressue that it will explode things in the RV.

3) Limited availability. For example, I stayed in a 400 unit campground in Yellowstone that as far as I could tell only had one tap. But this generally is not much of a problem

I solve all three of those issues by leaving home with a full tank and with rare exceptions I make that last the entire trip.