cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Brakes on single axle trailer

dirtrlr
Explorer
Explorer
This may sound like a 'newbie' question, but hear me out... I've been pulling large trailers (dual axles with brakes) for 20+ years, never pulling a small trailer. I picked up a small HTT (18 foot, single axle) for a friend yesterday, pulling it behind my F350. When I inspected the trailer I saw it clearly has brakes, and a break-away switch, so I was surprised when I connected the trailer to my truck that my brake controller didn't see any brakes. The previous owner said the trailer brakes were only for the break-away (he called it an emergency brake) and that they didn't provide any braking while underway. That's doesn't make sense to me, but since my rig wouldn't have any problem towing/stopping such a small trailer, I went ahead and towed it to my friend's location.

The trailer is a 2007 Starcraft XP (18RB). Does anyone have experience with this type of setup? Is there really such a thing as "emergency brakes only," or do I need to have the wiring inspected?
Brian Wood
'87 24' Calay (by Kit) Travel Trailer
'94 F350 Crew Cab, x-bed, 4x4 workhorse
XR400 for me, various smaller XR's for my 3 sons!
9 REPLIES 9

dirtrlr
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks everyone. I cleaned the connectors on the umbilical cord (emery cloth and contact cleaner), then re-positioned the blades to make sure they were seating properly, then applied dielectric grease, and viola, controller sees the brakes! I appreciate your confirming feedback that the brakes must indeed be working (are are supposed to slow the vehicle), giving me the impetus to track things down further. Nice to know I wasn't crazy (well, at least regarding this). Happy trailering!
Brian Wood

Old-Biscuit
Explorer II
Explorer II
dirtrlr wrote:
Old-Biscuit wrote: