cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Dolly tow

Davion206
Explorer
Explorer
Opinion please....we are looking at buying a class c....brand and size not yet determined....question is towing with a dolly? We already own a Ford Escape and it cannot be towed four down. Do you tow with a dolly?
2018 Coachmen Leprechaun 260ds
2016 Colorado 4x4
Ed and Joyce and Luci Lou
8 REPLIES 8

ol__yeller
Explorer II
Explorer II
If your Escape is 2WD (FWD) then you can dolly it. If it is AWD (4WD) then you can't.
I am NOT a mechanic although I do play one in my garage!

mbutts
Explorer
Explorer
Good luck on the downsizing! When we ordered our MH in November, we traded in our TT. We had to unload everything from the TT into our garage while we waited a few months for delivery. Sold a bunch of stuff we didn't even know we had.
Mike Butts
DW+DD+DS+Poodles
2017 Forest River Forester 3011DS (first MH!)
Previously 1999 Coleman Santa Fe pop-up, 2007 Kodiak 23SS hybrid, 2013 Sunset Trail 29SS travel trailer

Davion206
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you all for your replys....for several years we have pulled TT and 5th wheels....getting older and thinking a small motor home might be best for us. We head out tomorrow to begin our search....not sure we can find one we like,..our 40ft fiver has us spoiled with its storage....not sure I can get DH to down size enough....
2018 Coachmen Leprechaun 260ds
2016 Colorado 4x4
Ed and Joyce and Luci Lou

FunTwoDrv
Explorer
Explorer
We tow with a Demco SS. Great dolly but heavy. I think ours may be close to 700lbs with the stone guard. Our car weighs about 3300lbs. We know it's back there every time we pull a grade! (Our C is powered by a GM 6.0.)

Gary

tobydad
Explorer
Explorer