cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reese Trunion Head wearing? Sway happening

lamopar
Explorer
Explorer
I am using a Reese Trunion style antisway system, Dual Cam, on my toy hauler. I have ~1,900 lbs of tongue weight. I have been using the system for just over 5 years and now I am starting to get sway. The hitch is the Reese Titan class 5 hitch and the bars are the 1,700lbs bars. My trailer is 34' long triple axle. I don't see any dip in the back of the truck looking at ride height. I have air bags and thought that might be why I don't see the dip. My bars are dry on the cam end as Reese states they should be. I did not keep the heads of the bars lubricated on the hitch head and now I see the holes the bars fit in are elongated on the bottom toward the trailer and the top toward the truck. I do notice it is much easier to attach the bars. When I set it up I measured the weight not the front and rear tires of the truck w/o the trailer then adjusted the bars to get the same weight difference on the wheels. I have not found a scale to check it on recently. I am hanging 5 links with only three left to adjust with. I am now lubing the heads in the hitch and hope it will help.

I am wondering if anyone else had had problems like this and if I will need to replace the hitch head assembly to correct the problem. Your thoughts?
3 REPLIES 3

lamopar
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks I'll give them a call tomorrow.

dedmiston
Reese has really good phone support. Give them a call and see what they advise. They were fantastic when I called them.

2014 RAM 3500 Diesel 4x4 Dually long bed. B&W RVK3600 hitch • 2015 Crossroads Elevation Homestead Toy Hauler ("The Taj Mahauler") • <\br >Toys:

• 18 Can Am Maverick x3
  • 05 Yamaha WR450
  • 07 Honda CRF250X
  • 05 Honda CRF230
  • 06 Honda CRF230

ScottG
Nomad
Nomad
Your quite a ways over the rating of the hitch.