cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

weight distribution hitch?

wannavolunteerF
Explorer
Explorer
my brother is looking at buying smaller single axle TT. Only 18 ft total length, and 3200 gross weight. He knows he will have to add a brake controller to his F150, but will he need to use WD type hitch? I have no experience with smaller/lighter TT.
2015 FR Georgetown 378TS
23 REPLIES 23

Huntindog
Explorer
Explorer
The difference is need, or want.
People have different expectations for what is satisfactory performance...

Case in point: On another thread, a TT owner is thrilled that his new tires hold air!!

IMO, that is a VERY low threshold for what is satisfactory.

As for this thread.. It will perform better with WD. Will the OP be happier with it, or with saving a few bucks by skipping it? Who knows.

Your opinion may vary.
Huntindog
100% boondocking
2021 Grand Design Momentum 398M
2 bathrooms, no waiting
104 gal grey, 104 black,158 fresh
FullBodyPaint, 3,8Kaxles, DiscBrakes
17.5LRH commercial tires
1860watts solar,800 AH Battleborn batterys
2020 Silverado HighCountry CC DA 4X4 DRW

TomG2
Explorer
Explorer
Interesting how the aluminum body changed things. My 2017 F150 Supercab with the 5.0 has a yellow sticker payload of 2,320 pounds with no suspension upgrades or tow package. "P" tires.

Atlee
Explorer
Explorer
My F150 came with E rated tires from the factory. Of course I got one with the "unicorn" package, the HD Payload Package. My cargo capacity when from 1480# in my 2005 F150 to 2286# in my 2014 F150.

My 2014 may ride a little harder than the old 2005, but I don't mine. It certainly isn't too harsh for comfort. Besides, with a truck, I never expect to get the ride of an interstate cruiser like my old Mercury Marquis.

rbpru wrote:
Personally I would never put E rated tires on an F-150. In my opinion they are way to much tire. Others like the feel of them just fine.