cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Caulking and maintenance

nwbearcat1998
Explorer
Explorer
Hello, I'm a newbie to maintaining my new TT.

I previously owned an older trailer; I'll admit didn't take care of as much as I should've and took a loss on it to sell it.

I did maintain the roof by filling cracks with self leveling dicor is all.

I don't want to make that same mistake again so before winterizing the trailer in the next two weeks what are the best maintenance item to review?

For example, the places where the corner molding is attached and old caulking is cracked on the outside of it should be scraped off and replaced??
39 REPLIES 39

nwbearcat1998
Explorer
Explorer
nwbearcat1998 wrote:
I used the following
Geocel 28100V Pro Flex Crystal Clear RV Flexible Sealant

I got it from Amazon, see link above.

2012Coleman
Explorer
Explorer
bobndot wrote:
Agree with ken56, the 'Proflex RV' also comes in 'brite white' which does not yellow like I found using the regular 'white' but using clear is fine.
Where can you get this?
Experience without good judgment is worthless; good judgment without experience is still good judgment!

2018 RAM 3500 Big Horn CTD
2018 Grand Design Reflection 303RLS

Scott_M
Explorer
Explorer
I have started using Sikaflex 1a polyurethane construction sealant to seal around my wall penetrations on FW. I started using this product on my house about 10 years ago and so far no failures and it still looks good as new. Adhesion and elasticity factors are really good, so it will withstand movement and sticks well. Started using on FW about a year ago with no joint failures. It comes in many colors.

There are a couple of downsides to the product. First, like most urethane products, it is a real mess on the hands and work surfaces. Second, it also takes a while to cure (moisture cure). Areas with low humidity may need a couple of light mists of water. The joints need to be mask with painters tape prior to application.