cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where to buy wood

HappyCanadianCa
Explorer
Explorer
Hi fellow campers. I’m relatively new to the RV world and am taking my first trip down the Oregon Coast from Canada. As our wood is not allowed to mix with American wood, where is the best places in the US, more specifically the Washington and Oregon Coast, to buy firewood at a reasonable price?
48 REPLIES 48

drsteve
Explorer
Explorer
Depends on where you live. In MI bringing wood from home is strongly discouraged due to the ongoing effort to stem the spread of invasive insects. As a result of this, decent quality, reasonably priced firewood is widely available from many private sellers around state parks and other camping areas. Once you get into the northern areas of the state, you can just stop at a sawmill and get all the cheap, nicely dried firewood you could ever want.

So check your local regulations before you load a half cord into the truck and head out.
2006 Silverado 1500HD Crew Cab 2WD 6.0L 3.73 8600 GVWR
2018 Coachmen Catalina Legacy Edition 223RBS
1991 Palomino Filly PUP

myredracer
Explorer II
Explorer II
You are legally allowed to take firewood back and forth across the Canada/US border and have been doing it for years. The stipulation is that it must be dimensional sawn lumber without any bark whatsoever on it. Split rounds of firewood is absolutely not permissable. We keep a small amount in our truck for the many camping trips we do in the US each year. We get pulled over at the border by the US border folks at least once a year for a "routine computer-generated" inspection. Once, they went through every stick of firewood and found one piece of 2x4 with a small amount of bark on it and they confiscated it. Pieces of cedar for kindling are also okay as long as it is clearly sawn wood that has been processed in a mill. If in doubt, check on CBSA or CBP websites.