cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Water Heater on or off when Full Timing

CabinetmakerII
Explorer
Explorer
My wife and I have been RVing for 30 + years and Full-Timing for 3 years. We have had more than one conversation about leaving the water heater on to ensure we have hot water when we need it, or to turn it off when not in use and risk not having hot water when it comes time to do the dishes or take a shower. Wondering what others do... also, do you run propane or electric?
Cabinetmaker

2021 DRV 39 DBRS3
2017 F-450 4X4, Riece 24K Hitch
2011 F-450 4X4, Companion 18K Hitch, Air Bags (Retired)
2012 Cyclone 3800, 5th Airborne Kingpin (Retired)
2018 Polairs 1000 XP Side by Side
27 REPLIES 27

DianneOK
Explorer
Explorer
We left ours on for our entire 9 years on the
road. Never had an issue with ours or other's cycling. I want hot water when I want it.
Dianne (and Terry) (Fulltimed for 9 years)
Donnelly, ID
HAM WB6N (Terry)
2012 Ford F350, diesel, 4x4 SRW, crew cab, longbed
2009 Lance 971 Truck Camper, loaded

Life Member Good Sam
Geocache..."RVcachers"
RV net Blog

[COLOR=]Camping, nature's way to feed the mosquitoes

Pop-Pop_C
Explorer
Explorer
I turn ours on twice a day, morning and evening.
If I don't use it it doesn't wear out so fast. IMHO.!

ventrman
Explorer
Explorer
We leave ours on. They are designed to be left on, just like your S&B House.
God Bless!

Chiku
Explorer
Explorer
๐Ÿ™‚

Chiku
Explorer
Explorer
I can only say that I have had very,very good experience with Gas Tankless Water Heater in bitter winters. They do make a tankless water heater. Based on my experience I would be inclined towards them if I was looking for a water heater.

pnichols
Explorer II
Explorer II
Old-Biscuit wrote:
.... Electric when AC Power is available otherwise Propane as it is NOT all that expensive (if it was about 'costs' I would not have an RV).