Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New '17 3500 SRW fifth wheel hitch options...San Diego

XR4rider
Explorer
Explorer
Hi All,

I've been reading this forum for information on fifth wheel hitches. Hope I'm not beating a dead horse on this. I'm actually new to fifth wheels. Been pulling bumper pulls my whole life but recently stepped up and got a '17 3500 Aisin SRW Megacab 6'4" box(without fifth wheel prep package). I'm going to be pulling a 29' fifth wheel with a reported hitch weight of 1325lbs.

I was wondering what hitches others are happy with. I will be pulling probably 75% of the time so very concerned with strength and longevity. I have read about the BW Companion, which is considered a "single point attachment". is a single point attachment not a strong or reliable as a rail style?...or the Pulrite Superglide? I like the idea of once the hitch is out, the ball can be removed for full bed use, however, I am also fine with rails if that will lead to more strength and reliably.
Any advice or thoughts would be appreciated. Also, does anyone recommend a place in the San Diego area that would do a good install of the hitch?

Thank you,
20 REPLIES 20

XR4rider
Explorer
Explorer
The BW slider is definitely on the list. I will probably not get factory 5th wheel prep kit installed. Unfortunately I do not have means to install this myself, so a dealer would need to. I am sure that is a hefty price tag. If I go with the BW slider I will get either the rails system or have the turnover hitch installed. I do like the idea of an auto slide however, so the Superglide is also on the list. The only negative with the Superglide is the inability to hitch at an angle.

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
Don't wish later, just get the pucks installed and go with the B&W Slider you WON'T regret it!!!

Simple solid latching system with NO question if you are hitched or not!!!