Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Coleman Mach AC communications error help
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Coleman Mach AC communications error help

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
CentralCoastCampers

Central Coast, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/07/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/13/17 07:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a Coleman Mach 9330A633 15000 AC in my fiver, original equipemnt. It has a wireless thermostat. I noticed that the green system LED wasn’t on, and AC and gas heater controlled through it won’t work. Took off panel, and the green LED on the main box is flasshing twice, which according to the manual, is a communications error. Tried swapping out the phone cable that goes to the receiver unit, but no change. Is there a way to test the pc board on the receiver unit? Am I missing something? I am assuming the comm error means that the main box isn’t communicating with the receiver unit, but the manual is pretty skimpy and it doesn’t explain what a communications error actually is. Can the pc board in the receiver unit be replaced?
Any help is welcome.


'05 Keystone Challenger 34 TBH 5th wheel MOR/ryde SRE/4000, Dexter wet bolt kit
'05 HD Dodge 3500 DRW extended cab CTD, 4X4, 4:10 gears
Mike & Shannon
Son Kasey & Daughter Lindsay
Alaskan Klee Kai - Kade
Golden Retriver - JD (Just Dog)


newman fulltimer

louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2012

View Profile


Online
Posted: 11/13/17 07:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

kill all power to the unit it will reset the board

CentralCoastCampers

Central Coast, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/07/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/13/17 07:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

newman fulltimer wrote:

kill all power to the unit it will reset the board


I had already tried turning of the breaker, no change.

newman fulltimer

louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2012

View Profile


Online
Posted: 11/13/17 08:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

CentralCoastCampers wrote:

newman fulltimer wrote:

kill all power to the unit it will reset the board


I had already tried turning of the breaker, no change.
you have to kill both 110 and 12volt to reset the board

CentralCoastCampers

Central Coast, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/07/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/13/17 08:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

newman fulltimer wrote:

CentralCoastCampers wrote:

newman fulltimer wrote:

kill all power to the unit it will reset the board


I had already tried turning of the breaker, no change.
you have to kill both 110 and 12volt to reset the board

That did it, thanks!

newman fulltimer

louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2012

View Profile


Online
Posted: 11/13/17 10:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

your system went bellow required voltage and board locked out

CentralCoastCampers

Central Coast, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/07/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/14/17 11:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

newman fulltimer wrote:

your system went bellow required voltage and board locked out

Thanks, on the AC or DC side?

Jetstreamer

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Senior Member

Joined: 12/16/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/16/17 05:22pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I’ve got the same system in my Keystone Challenger.... don’t you wonder what they were smoking when that system was dreamed up?? I mean,what’s the advantage of a remote controller in a small living space that always has to have a line of sight connection to work?? Always having to worry whether it’s communicating properly and don’t even think of trying to find any replacement parts for that mess...there’s a good reason why that system was discontinued (as far as I know) a long time ago....
I would love to convert to a plain old wall thermostat in my rig, but I’ll wait till mine takes a dump...again...
When I had some issues with mine years back, I did get some good tech advice from RVP division of Coleman products. They were very helpful.

Joe417

AL

Senior Member

Joined: 02/03/2002

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/16/17 08:44pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Simple is always better, but todays generation wants remote everything.

I just finished converting my neighbors Carrier remote system(no longer produced) into a digital wall thermostat unit. Cost $12 + the thermostat. They are much happier now.

But they will have to get up walk 11 feet to the thermostat.


Joe & Evelyn


CentralCoastCampers

Central Coast, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/07/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/17/17 12:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Jetstreamer wrote:

I’ve got the same system in my Keystone Challenger.... don’t you wonder what they were smoking when that system was dreamed up?? I mean,what’s the advantage of a remote controller in a small living space that always has to have a line of sight connection to work?? Always having to worry whether it’s communicating properly and don’t even think of trying to find any replacement parts for that mess...there’s a good reason why that system was discontinued (as far as I know) a long time ago....
I would love to convert to a plain old wall thermostat in my rig, but I’ll wait till mine takes a dump...again...
When I had some issues with mine years back, I did get some good tech advice from RVP division of Coleman products. They were very helpful.

Yep, I agree, and the current tempauture never seems to work well, especially with the heater.
However, I do have to say, in the almost 13 years I’ve had it, this was the first real problem I had with it.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Coleman Mach AC communications error help
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2017 CWI, Inc. © 2017 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS