cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Charging battery inside the TV

Mariner14
Explorer
Explorer
Hey guys, a noob here. We are doing a 3+ week trip this summer including a week in yellowstone dry camping. I have a 30' TT with 7 people total including kids and in-laws. I am borrowing the trailer actually so I don't want to invest too much money and I have been thinking through how I am going to keep the battery charged for a whole week. I don't want to buy a generator and it seems like the cheaper solar options might not push enough amps. Plus I'm not sure of sun availability/shade in the campsite.

The cheapest option I may have found was to install a battery isolator in my TV and run a wire to the rear of SUV and put the TT battery in there and connect it to charge off the chassis battery/alternator while we drive around the park each day or every other day. I figure we'll be in the car for at least 1.5 hrs a day since yellowstone is so big (and crowded in July). It may not charge it all the way, but at least it will get us through the night. Obviously the TT would stay in the campsite during the day, so it wouldn't be hooked to the TV for charging while we drove.
Here is one product I found on amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/WirthCo-20092-Battery-Doctor-Isolator/dp/B0058SGDFK

Thoughts? Thanks.
24 REPLIES 24

Mariner14
Explorer
Explorer
TomG2 wrote:
One option that might be unpopular would be to leave six of the seven at home. Otherwise, spend the five or six dollars a night per person for a campsite with hookups and enjoy Yellowstone. It is too interesting and exciting a place to waste your time playing with a voltmeter all day and all night.

Strong advice there Tom. Why didn't I think of leaving 6 at home!
Yeah, I'm just going to pony up for Fishing Bridge and relax. And use as much water and electricity as I possibly can that week!

MEXICOWANDERER
Explorer
Explorer