Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Furnace Thermostat
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
k9jadon

La Mesa, CA (Near San Diego)

Full Member

Joined: 09/03/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/28/17 12:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hey all, I am wondering if anyone of you has ever changed your furnace thermostat, how easy or difficult it was? Ours is very annoying, when you think it is on its off, and there are just slashes to indicate temperature. I would like to upgrade to a model that is more intuitive in relation to "set" temperature and one that you can easily tell if it is on or off. I've changed the thermostat in my home, are TT thermostats more or less the same? Anyway, thanks.





enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 12/28/17 12:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Many have updated.
Need to know what make and model you have and what it controls.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


ksg5000

Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 06/30/2008

View Profile



Posted: 12/28/17 01:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Not sure exactly what your looking for. The most common upgrade by RVer's is moving from old fashion analog to digital thermostat's which are more accurate. Installing new thermostat is pretty easy affair - especially if you purchase one that uses it's own power source (battery). Lots of Youtube videos on thermostat installs.


Kevin

k9jadon

La Mesa, CA (Near San Diego)

Full Member

Joined: 09/03/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/28/17 02:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks. I will look into a new digital one, with it's own battery. It only controls the furnace, since we do not have A/C in the trailer.

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 12/28/17 03:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I installed this one. It has a separate on/off switch. Displays set temperature and room temperature.
Emerson Thermostat

DrewE

Vermont

Senior Member

Joined: 08/23/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/28/17 03:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I did, not too many days ago, for both the furnace and AC. It was generally straightforward. A furnace only job would be simpler as there are fewer wires to contend with--likely only two, in fact. They would be connected to R and W (or Rh and W if you have Rh and Rc separately on the thermostat). The standard naming of wires and connections for thermostats is rather obtuse.

This thread has my description and a picture (and a handful of other mods I've done sort of recently). Maybe it will be helpful. The Lux thermostat I used is $18 or so on Amazon.





SoundGuy

S Ontario

Senior Member

Joined: 02/11/2015

View Profile



Posted: 12/28/17 06:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

k9jadon wrote:

I will look into a new digital one, with it's own battery. It only controls the furnace, since we do not have A/C in the trailer.


I chose a Honeywell RTH5100B because it offers a back lit screen that's really easy to see in dim light.

[image]


2014 Coachmen Freedom Express 192RBS
2012 Chevy Silverado CC 5.3L 4x4


chuckbear

Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 06/07/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/29/17 07:18am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You still haven't provided any information as to what model units and thermostat you have so no one will be able to answer your question. Some of the older Mach AC and propane heater combinations with Intellitec thermostats can only be changed by doing a major rewiring. Others are a simple fix. But you need to provide more info before anyone can do more than guess what you need. Chuck

naturist

Lynchburg, VA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/24/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/29/17 07:50am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The simple thermostats are easily changed out with a house unit, since the simple ones merely complete a circuit to fire the furnace. I, too, have done this, using a thermostat with its own battery. The bonus for me was that the house thermostat not only reports/controls with actual temperatures, it also allows for setting temperatures as low as 40°F, which is perfect for minimal propane usage while unoccupied. Installation was a breeze, couple screws in the wall and connect the two wires to the appropriate terminals.





SoundGuy

S Ontario

Senior Member

Joined: 02/11/2015

View Profile



Posted: 12/29/17 10:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

chuckbear wrote:

You still haven't provided any information as to what model units and thermostat you have so no one will be able to answer your question. Some of the older Mach AC and propane heater combinations with Intellitec thermostats can only be changed by doing a major rewiring. Others are a simple fix.


The OP already said - "It only controls the furnace, since we do not have A/C in the trailer." Pretty obvious it's just a simple circuit closure to fire the furnace.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS