Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Beginning RVing: First time... full time.
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Beginning RVing

Open Roads Forum  >  Beginning RVing

> First time... full time.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
JandVcruise2018

Northern California

View Profile

Posted: 12/28/17 08:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello everyone. Its my first time on this site. I'll get right to it. My wife and I moved to Northern California about 7 months ago. We love it and want to spend some time there but we are going to have to either rent a place soon, buy something or buy an RV and live in it full time. We are both in our 30's. We dont want to buy because A) we get board with places easy and want to see a lot more of the country before we get planted. B) Small condos are selling for 300k+ (and still have HOA's). We can rent but a decent 1 bedroom is $2000+ a month plus utilities. Also, even though the camper (and truck to tow it) will deperacate we rather put at least part our money towards something we will own. We are looking at getting a Keystone Montana and an F-350 diesel. Any advise or suggestions?

Mickeyfan0805

SE Wisconsin

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 12/28/17 08:46pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I can't speak to full-timing directly, but your post does make me wonder how much experience you have with RV'ing in general. The RV life comes with a lot of blessings and some real challenges, and from everything I've read, full-timing is not nearly as cost efficient as it appears on the surface. Some background info on how much experience you have would probably be helpful to those who could give more direct input.

SDcampowneroperator

South Dakota