cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New to camping ha trip

orion1968
Explorer
Explorer
So we are new to camping. We should have our trailer by late march. I want to go on a short distance trip first. Is there a planner that you can plug a distance in and it can show you a radius of places to go? Lets say we want to head to Florida from Ohio. Is there a recommended route and places to stop?

Thanks
19 REPLIES 19

Newbie_J
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to RVing myself. I never even camped before. However after my wife passed away I wanted to attempt a new chapter in my life. I purchased a 26ft Travel trailer loaded up what I thought I might need and planned my route to Panama City Beach Nov 2017. It was about a 600 mile trip so being single and no dogs on my first trip I planned a stop about half way.
Once at my destination (7days) I planned an additional stop on my return trip.
I traveled numerous times before and had no reservations about taking off on a trip my first time out.
My weird way of thinking is a taught lesson is better than a bought lesson.
Anyway when I was packing up getting ready to return home the awning would not retract and no way to do it manually. I could hear the relay kicking in so I traced the wire from the outside to the connection inside found the problem and fixed it.
So my point is unless you have this type of problem solving abilities then staying close by couple of days getting to know your RV and using all of it fixtures is best.
On a side note, I loved the experience so much that once back I returned the RV to the dealership and traded it for a different one, more room, outside kitchen... etc and doing so in December I got a great deal as RV sales are going on. Headed out again in February.

Best of luck, happy travels.

ependydad
Explorer
Explorer
See if this helps:

Trip Planning Apps & Websites
2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
2018 Ram 3500 Crew Cab DRW w/ 4.10 gears and 8' bed
FW Hitch: TrailerSaver TS3