cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Not a Newbie, but been to long and need advice

thegabrielles
Explorer
Explorer
Hi ALL!!! We have been away from the RV world for far too long and are starting our research to get back into it. We have changed from CLass C, Class A, to the Fifth wheel and now a Fifth Wheel Toy Hauler. We believe this will meet all our wants and needs and we move into retirement and traveling the US in it. We will be living in it for months at a time (two adults only).

OK, so currently I don't even have a truck, so we will be buying the whole setup... preferably not brand new but less than 3 years old.
I am looking at an F350 Diesel to pull with and if I am seeing the numbers correct that should pull about any fifth wheel. But I am not stuck on any truck yet. BTW, I am a firefighter and have been driving about everything my whole life, I am not worried about my capabilities as long as the setup is safe. I will be adding cameras to assist, though.

We went to the Atlanta RV show today to get some hands-on and we fell in love with a Heartland Cyclone 4115. I got home, did my research and that thing is 45'-6" long and it weighs in at about 16k lbs dry.

So here come the questions.
1. How long is too long? I looked around at RV sites and found some that won't accommodate over 40' and others that cant handle over 36'. I don't want to limit where we can go or stay too much.

2. There seems to be a price gap on these... a bunch around $40K and then it jumps to $120k. I understand quality etc, but is the range really that high? I see the $115K 'on sale" for $80k brand new so is the markup really that much on the higher quality ones?

3. Any suggestions/ recommendations, if you take a look at the layout of the Cyclone you will see kinda what I am looking for. I am looking at sending about $120K for truck and camper, which seems quite reasonable, would love to spend less but willing to spend more for the right combo.