cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Leaving Nor Cal in Early March

buylow12
Explorer
Explorer
We have been considering making the drive to the Anchorage area. My wife is a travel nurse and will be finishing up her assignment here in Pacifica, CA (about 25 minutes south of San Francisco) in early March, our plan would be to leave then and take approximately two month to drive up there, then spend May, June and July in the Anchorage area (my wife would take an assignment in the area), then drive back August and September(or maybe catch a ferry?Too expensive?).

I've been doing a bit of research and it seems we may be getting there too early and leaving too late. We have an F250 with the 7.3 and a 35 ft fifth wheel. We have done very little real cold weather camping(a few nights below freezing) and zero driving on ice or snow. I have had plenty of experience driving narrow mountain roads with no guardrails and large potholes though(thanks Baja, lol). We also have a lot of experience boondocking and would hope to be able to avoid campgrounds as much as possible again. I wanted to get ya'lls opinion on this plan. Is it doable? Special precautions to make it more doable? We can't really leave any later and make it in time with her taking an assignment in the area. We like to take our time and enjoy our trips so I can't see making a drive that long in any less time, especially since we now have an infant.
Tim Czarkowski
TotalTravelers.com
23 REPLIES 23

buylow12
Explorer
Explorer