cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Another 'right' tool

SidecarFlip
Explorer
Explorer
I do my own brakes and have for years on my truck and trailers. One of the sticking points I've found is breaking loose rust seized on brake rotors on disc brakes.

No amount of beating or heating seems to loosen them (at least in my case) and I've had to resort to using a 5 pound sledge and serious beating to get them off (at the expense of suspension parts until now that is..

A good friend of mine who is a professional mechanic by trade pointed me toward his method and it works like a charm

I bought a Harbor Freight 12 ton hydraulic puller (70 bucks at HF). It's jaws fit over any disc (fit my F350 discs with room to spare) and you set it up (3 jaws on the disc), align the body with the center of the hub, run it in tight, apply a squirt of penetrant to the hub and 3 strokes of the hydraulic cylinder and the disc pops right off, easy as pie. Great tool and saves a lot of grief. It actually has enough hydraulic force to break a disc off the hub if you want to do that but with me, they popped right off. Sure made a miserable job a cake walk.

Little FYI for those of you that do their own maintenance, like me.
2015 Backpack SS1500
1997 Ford 7.3 OBS 4x4 CC LB
17 REPLIES 17

Edd505
Explorer
Explorer
SDcampowneroperator wrote:
disc brake caliper bolts do seem to lock tight up regardless of torque. Long wrenches, hyd. Jacks big hammers are often needed to break them loose.

Never Seeze on the threads is the next mechanics dream come true.

Best answer, brake bolts, lug nuts, etc.
2015 F350 FX4 SRW 6.7 Crew, longbed - 2017 Durango Gold 353RKT
2006 F350 SRW 6.0 crew longbed sold
2000 F250 SRW 7.3 extended longbed airbags sold
2001 Western Star 4900EX sold
Jayco Eagle 30.5BHLT sold, Layton 24.5LT sold

westend
Explorer
Explorer
Always nice to have a tool that works!!